

# DEPARTMENT OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

DEPARTMENTAL CEREMONY
AWARDING THE DIPLOMAS
OF THE
ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY SECOND
COMMENCEMENT



Lagunita Courtyard Sunday, June 18, 2023

# ORDER OF CEREMONY

# ENTRY OF FACULTY AND GRADUATES WELCOME AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Professor Pamela Hinds, Chair

#### PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

Senior Project Awards
Outstanding Academic Performance - Undergraduate
Outstanding Academic Performance - Graduate
Department Course Assistant Award
Undergraduate Teaching Award
Graduate Teaching Award

#### PRESENTATION OF DIPLOMAS

Candidates for the Degree of Bachelor of Science Candidates for the Degree of Master of Science Candidates for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

# **CLOSING REMARKS AND EXIT OF FACULTY**



Reception for all graduates, families, and friends immediately following the ceremony.

#### **BACHELOR OF ARTS AND SCIENCE**

\* =with distinction, φ =Phi Beta Kappa, π =Tau Beta Pi

Sebastian Andrés Aguirre Jorge Andrés Armenta Erick Avila Salgado

Sean Bai

Natalie Rose Berty Chanse H. Bhakta Sahil Sahnan Chandra

Adam Chang Joshua Chien

Cameron James Cilley John Henry Clark Uzoma Edoh

Nadine Iman Fattah\* <sup>φ π</sup> Engubia Nsang Fontama

Megan Ann Frost Sohit Gatiganti

Katelin Kirbi Gildersleeve Troy Michael Gleason

Ethan Hill

Ashley Jepson\*

Hyunjeong (Evelyn) Jun

Simrin Kalkat Nicholas Kim <sup>π</sup>

Samuel Leon Kritzer

Ashley Kwon

Michelle Lahrkamp

Jessica Layne

Jake William Levine Riley Austin Loos John Brody Malone Shreya Mantha Maiya J. Mao Juan Martínez

Tomas Henrique Martinez
Michael Christopher Massey
Anthony Gerald Mays II
Elena Victoria McCleary\*
Liana Marie McDonnell
Samantha Moadel
Caroline Mondiello

Roshni Padhi

Ashten Layne Prechtel Kara Nasif Rahaim\* <sup>†</sup> Kivalu Ikaika Ramanlal Jr.

Derek Rodriguez Ryan D. Sanborn Michelle Schwartzman

Emily Smith Kattalin Stahl

Kasen Albion Stephensen

Monica Tavassoli

Alexander Mackay Thorpe Chinemere Okore Obinna Uche Lynn Isabel Vanderstichele

Alana Vawter

Bao Khanh Hoang Vu

Phoebe Yao

Janae Alethia Young

Natalia Sophia Stewart Zezza

# **MASTER OF SCIENCE**

Aparna Ananthasubramaniam

Grace Baek Corey G. Baker

Janani Balasubramanian

Catherine Baron Alahji A. Barry Tyler Scott Beck Mokshlakshmi Bhan Cecile Bourbonnais

Christina Marie Brasco-Kitchell

Ting Cao
Hailong Chen
Sarah Huijun Chen
Ying Xuan Chua
Andrea Marie Collins
Filippo Colonna
Melissa Daniel

Dimitre Dimitrov Bhargav Dindukurthi

Zachary Thomas Ettensohn

Constantin Hubertus Leopold Eulenstein

Jhonatan Ewunetie
Andre Marcel Fernandez
Patrick Andrew Fields
Daniel Scott Fishman

Anya Fries

Berta Garcia Gonzalez Osman Ghandour Reynaldo Gomez Kun Guo Jeffrey Hanson Amod Hegde Kevin Hicks

Luc Foster Hudon
Matthew Jacquez
Daniel A. Jenson
Rebecca Ran Jia
John Walter Kohler
German Kolosov
Soumya Koppaka
Rhea Kumar Jain
Shreyas Lakhtakia
Anna Sulah Lee
Daniel Kwokyen Lee
Michael Evan Leonard

Yifei Li Tianshu Luo

Dylan Sauburox Dragon Ly

Thomas Ma

Tomas Henrique Martinez

Craig Maughan Nicole Ronnie Miller

Naël M'nasri

Mohamed Mohsen

Muhammad Umar Nadeem Guillaume Thomas Jean Noziere

Ryland Pampush

Sruti Paturi

# **MASTER OF SCIENCE**

Ashten Layne Prechtel

Nivedh Rajesh

Rekha Ramanathan

Kivalu Ikaika Ramanlal Jr.

James Corbin Schmeil

Haley Schwager Dingchen Sha

Mahammad Shirinov

Lucas Maroja Simoes

Wenzhu Song

Grace Wanrong Tan

Joshua Emmanuel Coliangco Tan

Calvin Tolbert

Edward Tran

Phillip Tran

Jeffrey Tsang

Monica Tsien

Jia Yi Audrey Tung

Theo Velaise Dominic Waltz

Alisa Lin Wang

Julia Wang

Chenyi (Rose) Wang

Zilu Wang

Ziyi Wang

Cortney Curtis Weintz

Tim Zekai Wu

Yuwei Wu

Cecilia Xia

Charles Xu

Xinjing Xu

Yao Shengjie

Miao-Chin Yen

Yang Fan Yun

Tiffany Zhao

# **DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY**

Maxwell Allman, Vancouver, Canada
Tianhui Diao, Nanjing, China
Lodewijk Gelauff, Monster, the Netherlands
Khonika Gope, Dhaka, Bandladesh
Rebecca Anne Hinds, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Yun Hong

Jill Horing, New York

Prachee Jain

D. Carrington Motley, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Ayinwi Roselyn Muma, Atlanta, Georgia
Isabelle Rao, Strasbourg Bas Rhin, France
Brian Andrew Reed, Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Nian Si, Beijing, China
Xuhui Zhang, Suzhou, China
Zheqing Zhu, Shanghai, China

#### **FACULTY**

Itai Ashlagi, Professor Nicholas Bambos, Professor Tom Bedecarré, Adjunct Lecturer Ravi Belani, Adjunct Lecturer Jose Blanchet, Professor Steve Blank, Adjunct Professor Lisa Borland, Adjunct Lecturer Margaret L. Brandeau, Professor Thomas H. Byers, Professor (Teaching) Bruce Cahan, Adjunct Lecturer Charles E. Eesley, Associate Professor Kathleen M. Eisenhardt, Professor Jeff Epstein, Adjunct Lecturer Joe Felter, Adjunct Lecturer Jack H. Fuchs, Adjunct Lecturer Kay Giesecke, Professor Peter W. Glynn, Professor Ashish Goel, Professor Mar Hershenson, Adjunct Lecturer Pamela J. Hinds, Professor and Chair Rebeca Hwang, Lecturer Gerd Infanger, Adjunct Professor Ramesh Johari, Professor Blake E. Johnson, Adjunct Professor Arvind Karunakaran, Assistant Professor Riitta Katila, Professor Herb Lin, Adjunct Lecturer Irene Lo, Assistant Professor John Lord, Lecturer

Trevor Loy, Adjunct Lecturer Emily Ma, Adjunct Lecturer R. Ann Miura-Ko, Adjunct Lecturer Pedram Mokrian, Lecturer Dale Nesbitt, Adjunct Lecturer M. Elisabeth Paté-Cornell, Professor Markus Pelger, Assistant Professor Jan Pietzsch, Adjunct Professor J. Heidi Roizen, Adjunct Lecturer Amin Saberi, Professor David Scheinker, Adjunct Professor Ross D. Shachter, Associate Professor Aaron Sidford, Assistant Professor Rosanne Siino, Lecturer Lynda Kate Smith, Adjunct Lecturer Robert I. Sutton, Professor James L. Sweeney, Professor Vasilis Syrgkanis, Assistant Professor Edison T.S. Tse, Associate Professor Madeleine Udell, Assistant Professor Johan Ugander, Associate Professor Melissa A. Valentine, Associate Professor Benjamin Van Roy, Professor Ellen Vitercik, Assistant Professor Steve Weinstein, Adjunct Lecturer John P. Weyant, Professor (Research) Vic Woo, Adjunct Lecturer Yinyu Ye, Professor

### **DEPARTMENT HISTORY**

A brief history of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University:

Industrial Engineering (IE) was created as a program in the Administration Division of the Civil Engineering (CE) Department in 1945, headed by Eugene Lodewick Grant.

IE became an independent department in the School of Enginering in 1955, headed by W. Grant Ireson.

The Engineering Economic Systems (EES) program was created as an institute within the School of Engineering in 1962, chaired by William K. Linvill.

The Operations Research (OR) program was established in 1962 as an inter-departmental, interschool academic unit, chaired by Gerald Lieberman.

EES became a department in the School of Engineeering in 1967, chaired by William K. Linvill.

OR became a department in the School of Engineering in 1967, chaired by Gerald Lieberman.

The IE Department added Engineering Management to its mission and its name in 1977, becoming IEEM.

The EES and OR Departments merged in 1996, chaired by James L. Sweeney.

The EESOR and IEEM
Departments merged to become
the Department of Management
Science and Engineering (MS&E)
on January 1, 2000, chaired by M.
Elisabeth Paté-Cornell.

